Greetings from the MTC! – MTC #2

Hello everyone!!

 The MTC is crazy…. I’ve never had so many highs and lows in one single day. Seriously every day is so spiritually amazing and then the next you feel like there’s no way you will be able to do this for a year and a half. BUT I would not change it for a thing!

Elder Fernandes, one of the Elders in my district, said something after our Tuesday devotional that really stood out to me. He served in the Marines for four years before coming on a mission (he’s 22). On Tuesday he had said, “If I can choose between fighting for my brothers and sisters and saving my brothers and sisters, I would choose the latter every day.” And that is exactly what he is doing. We are here to share the message of Jesus Christ to SAVE our brothers and sisters. So awesome. I love my district. 

Sister Gomm's District at "The Map"

Sister Gomm’s District at “The Map”

So, classroom instructions have been going well. Those are the main thing that are so awesome one minute and then so frustrating the next. But they are SO essential to training to be an effective missionary. 

You know how everyone says, “just make it to Sunday and you know you can make it the rest of the time here.” Or, “Once your first Sunday hits, everything passes by so fast.” Well, it’s true. Sunday was so amazing. Taking the sacrament is obviously very important and so amazing. Going to the temple grounds and taking a million pictures and a million more ‘selfies’ was so fun. And Sunday devotional. So awesome! We had Brother Stephen B. Allen and his wife talk to us. It was so great and we got chastised and built up like 8 times. Something that Brother Allen said that I really liked was, “Was the Holy Ghost the Sr. companion, the Jr. companion, or was He even in our companionship today?” This especially applies to me and my companionship, but it can apply to you to! Is the Holy Ghost with you today? Yesterday? Will the Holy Ghost be with you tomorrow? You can have the spirit with you ALWAYS if you are mindful of it and have FAITH that it will help you. Faith is something that is very important to this gospel. In fact, without faith you cannot progress at all. Seriously, if you didn’t read Ether 12 last week, read it this week. It is SUCH a good chapter. So after the devotional you have the option to watch different movies/videos. We watched a talk from David A. Bednar that he had given at the MTC a few years ago. And wow. Every single person who is going on a mission needs to watch this video while at the MTC. It was another one of those ‘get torn down so that you can be built back up all within the same talk’ things. They happen a lot here. One of the things he said was, “WHO CARES WHAT YOU WANT” As a missionary, we should not be focused on ourselves. You will not progress if you are focused on yourself. And the same can be said for someone who is not a missionary. The point of service is to SERVE OTHERS. While serving others it does not matter what you are thinking or feeling. And, you will NEVER regret doing an act of service. 

IMG_0049
Okay so Monday, Monday was crazy. In the morning everyone (my district) was doing so well and we did role play with the other district in our zone, and it went SO well. And then as the day went on it just got worse and worse. It was sooo sad. Seriously everyone was having a bad day. It was really eye opening and so good for us to learn faith and to trust in the spirit. Even though it was so awful, we are all so grateful it happened so we could grow from it.

On Tuesday we had a devotional from Larry S. Kacher of the seventy. It was so amazing! Something he said that I loved, “Do not go forward in your own strength, but in God’s strength.” Also, “You get to decide what manner of missionary you will be.”

Something I wrote in my notebook, 

“Reading the Book of Mormon will make you want to come unto Christ.” 
So…. haven’t read it? Read it. ESPECIALLY if you are planning on serving a mission!

So on Thursday we had “in-field orientation” where we learned how to find investigators and what to teach them when you just run into them on the street, (or wherever else you may be). It was suuuper helpful, but Sister Callaway and I had to leave it for three hours because Sister Callaway had to go to the doctor. So we got into a van, they drove us right up to the door and we went into the doctors and had to wait what felt like forever for Sister Callaway to see the doctor. But once she left I had to sit in the waiting area by myself. And, family, if you remember what President Campbell had said when I wasgetting set apart about how on his mission he had been without his companion for hours during one transfer, but he felt that whole time, that there were two people to theside of him.. Even though I was just sitting in the waiting room of the doctors office, I could definitely feel that. That someone was with me as my companion wasn’t near me. And then… when she got back, it was gone. It’s so amazing to know that people are looking out for you, that Heaven is looking out for you. Because I know that Heavenly Father loves each and everyone of us. And He is looking out for us always. And, if you have faith, He will always be with you by having the spirit be with you.

Okay, that is all I have time for! I love you all! Please pray for the people in the first area I will be serving in, that they will be ready to hear the gospel!

 IMG_0036
Also, missionary tip: Girls planning on serving missions, my messenger bag that I got is AMAZING! I got it from ogio.com and they give 50% off to people who are serving religious missions! (they’re based in Utah, go figure) You just have to email them and fill out the info so they know you are actually going on a mission. I got the ‘midtown’ bag in the terra color, and it has been wonderful so far! So if you’re looking for a bag, I would definitely recommend that company!

I love you all to the moon and back!
Sister Gomm

I can’t believe I fly out to Philadelphia on Tuesday! I am so excited and nervous!

 

[email from Sister Gomm]

Leave a Reply

