Downingtown #13

Hello friends and family!!
I’m sorry I start all my emails the same way…… But…with that
being said, wow! What a crazy week!!
On Tuesday Sister Ipson and I decided to park our car and walk
everywhere because we had like zero miles left for the month! We had
an area that we wanted to get to to stop by a less active member, so
off we went. We talked to everyone! Crossing streets just because
someone was on the other side, stopping at bus stops and showing
Because He Lives (because those people aren’t going anywhere until the
bus comes) to the people there. It was such a crazy day full of
meeting TONS of people. It’s so crazy all of the people you meet and
the stories you hear and the lives you learn about if you just start a
conversation!

On Wednesday we had members drive us everywhere, which was such a
blessing because having members come is always a plus! And we didn’t
use any miles all day!! Plus we met with a few less active members
that we haven’t seen in a long time! (Or ever before).

On Thursday we somehow had TWO dinner appointments!! It was so rough,
but at one of the houses we had fruit for dessert! Seriously, that was
the highlight of the day! (Okay, maybe not, but it’s pretty up
there!;)

On Friday we had dinner with N…, my favorite person!! (: he is
seriously the coolest! We gave him oil and a vial to use when he gives
blessings (thanks mom for sending those!) since he just got the
Melchizedek Priesthood (I’m pretty sure I talk about him and the fact
that he just got the priesthood every week…), but he loved it and
gave us the sweetest card ever! He’s so awesome!!

On Saturday we were on our way to our correlation meeting and Sister
Ipson and I were talking about how we didn’t want sugar again for a
LONG time! So what did we do after our meeting..? Went and got Rita’s
of course… Hahaha. No joke, it happened.

Later in the evening we were walking through our apartment complex on
our way to find this former investigator and we passed by this man who
was working on a truck, so we ask if he needs any help and he’s like,
“yeah, sure!!” So we start helping him (he was replacing the bumper)
and his three friends show up. Needless to say they thought it was
hilarious that we were helping them and even more hilarious when we
started telling them what to do because they had no idea what they
were doing! (Neither did we really, but we knew better than they did
apparently! Haha)

Now, I wish I could say that all of the people that we invited to
church came! But….. No one did. But we sat by N… and E… (the
Elder’s recent convert) and N… just joked with me the whole time and
kept commenting on everyone’s testimonies and how great they were(:
after church we had a lesson with P… (recent convert) and talked
about what needs to be done for her to go to the temple this month!!
I’m so excited for her!! She’s so great, we had her tell us her
conversion story since she was baptized before either of us got there
and neither of us really knew how she gained a testimony of the
church. It was so great to see her light up while talking about how
she came to know the Book of Mormon is true!! I just love being a
missionary!! (:

It got me thinking about the Book of Mormon and the fact that it truly
is another testament of Jesus Christ. And the only way for you to know
that, is to read it and ask God if it is. No amount of others telling
you that will convince you. But I promise you, that if you ask
Heavenly Father if the Book of Mormon is true, if it is in fact
another testament of Jesus Christ, and you have a true desire to know
it is, that He will answer you through the Holy Ghost. So that is my
commitment to you all this week, I don’t care how many times you’ve
asked Heavenly Father if the Book of Mormon is true, ask again this
week!! I know Heavenly Father will bless you this week if you do ask
again(: and I know that you will come to know its true as you read it
more and more!! I know this for myself, and the Book of Mormon has
brought such great comfort to me, I promise you, it will do the same
for you!!

I hope you all have a great week!
I love you to the moon and back!!
Love,
Sister Sammy Gomm (:

Leave a Reply

