What a Crazy Week – Downingtown #15

Hello friends and family!!

First of all, I just want to say happy birthday Landon!! I love you so
so much and I hope your day is wonderful! I can’t believe you’re
almost done with high school!! Crazy!! You’re so old. (;

So this week was crazy!! I had to call and talk to a billion insurance
people about the car accident, which was soo lame!! (Okay, only like 2
or 3, but that’s still 2 or 3 more than I wanted to talk to!)
But this week consisted of meeting TONS of people and inviting
everyone to come closer to Christ!! We met with a lot of less active
members as well! I love getting to know people and talking with
everyone, it’s so fun and so interesting to hear about their different
backgrounds, beliefs, heartaches, triumphs, everything! I just love
talking to people!

This week we had dinner with the Kunz family (I LOVE THEM), and Elder
Kunz told us a lot about the Philadelphia temple; different facts and
things and how it’s going to look on the inside/how big it’s going to
be, etc. I always learn something new when with them! We read a
scripture with them and talked about how we can know Christ is our
Savior when we read the Book of Mormon, and both Elder and Sister Kunz
basically gave us a whole lesson right back about the scripture we had
read, it was such a great discussion and I seriously always learn
something new when visiting them!

Also this week we’ve really been getting the ward more involved in
missionary work! It’s been so helpful and it is so good when the ward
is involved, it makes things so much easier!! We had TONS of people
come to our various appointments with us, which was so great! But half
of the appointments fell through!! It was so frustrating, but it’s so
great to have members come teaching with you!

We met a part member family this week, and they have the cutest 6 year
old son!! His name is L…, and he told us all about how he is going
to be a body builder when he grows up! He’s so cute, we showed them
the Because He Lives video and halfway through L… was all, “I’m
bored, I’m going to my room.” Hahaha! well, that’s not the response we
were going for but…… What can you do? It was so funny though!

Also this week we met with P…, she is still preparing to go to the
temple which we are so excited about! But she didn’t come to church
this Sunday!! She was supposed to meet with the bishop, but obviously
that didn’t happen…. She’s preparing to go to the temple on June 13,
but that’s next transfer so I might not even be here!! 😦 I’m praying
that she will be able to go to the temple soon! I know she really
understands the importance of doing temple work, and she is planning
on taking her grandmother’s name to the temple! I’m seriously so
excited for her!!

This week we also met with N… (: we had him teach us the
restoration!! I can’t remember if I mentioned this already or not, but
we are having him teach us everything now!(: he did such a great job
teaching us!! He used the pamphlet, asked us great questions, and
shared his testimony of the restored gospel! It was funny because at
the end of the lesson I asked if he had a commitment for us and he was
all, “Uh…… Make me cookies?” Haha so needless to say, we need to
make some cookies soon! This upcoming week we are going to teach the
Plan of Salvation, and then after that he will teach it to us! I’m so
excited for it! He’s so awesome!! (: it’s so awesome to see people’s
testimonies strengthen, and to hear them talk about how they came to
know all of this is true(:

We have a new investigator named R…, we taught him the restoration
and invited him to be baptized! We are planning on his baptism
happening in July! He works on Sunday’s a lot though, so we are
praying that he can start to get Sunday’s off and that he will come to
church! He is so awesome though and we had the most random lesson with
him on his doorstep because he had friends over and didn’t want us all
to be in his house at the same time, but it was an awesome lesson and
we helped him recognize the spirit, and he really has a desire to know
that the Book of Mormon is truly another testament of Jesus Christ! We
are so excited to help him gain his own testimony of this gospel (:

I just want you all to know that I know that this church is true, and
I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God, that we did need a
restoration, and as evidence of that, we were given the Book of Mormon
which is another testament of Jesus Christ, it works with the Bible,
and that if we “Believe in Christ [we] will believe in these words,
for they are the words of Christ, and he hath given them unto me; and
they teach all men that they should do good.” (2 Nephi 33:10). That
when we read the Book of Mormon we will know that Christ is our Savior
and Redeemer, our Great Mediator. And if we know Christ, we will know
the Book of Mormon is true when we read it. This gospel is revolved
around love. God loves us, Christ loves us, and we show our love to
them by living this gospel, by making and keeping covenants, and
helping others to know love as well. And when we live the gospel, we
truly will know and feel the pure love of Christ.

I hope you all have a great week and I love you to the moon and back!
Love,
Sister Sammy Gomm (:

Leave a Reply

