Everyone Here is Related – Susquehanna #4

Hello everyone!

What a crazy week it’s been. We met this family who is a referral from
one of the members here, which is so great!! But they only speak
Spanish! And since we are way far away from the Spanish Elders there’s
no way they can come and teach this family. But we found someone who
is from the branch next to us who speaks Spanish and he came to
translate for us! It was so amazing! We’ve only met with the family
twice, so we are still getting to know them! On Wednesday we had our
Sister Training Leaders double in to our area. They slept over here on
Tuesday night, then Sister Simmons and I went with Sister Barnum and
Sister Brown went with Sister Casey! It was so much fun and I learned
so much! We met with a less active member this week, J… who lives
in Windsor, New York. Wow! He is amazing!! We started the stop smoking
program with him! He is so great and he really wants to serve a
mission! He has such a sense of urgency to get his life turned around
so he can go! I just love the people here! We are working with him and
praying for him! He has such a great desire to quit smoking though, I
know Heavenly Father is helping him through all of this!

I’m sure you’re all wondering what we did for the 4th of July! Well,
missionary work! We weren’t able to schedule any appointments with
ANYONE so we literally went around finding all day and tried talking
to everyone! It rained basically all day. I keep waiting for it to be
super hot and humid as everyone says it gets in PA in the summer, but
so far it’s been more wet than hot! But needless to say, the Fourth
was just like any other day! Everyone was going to Thompson to watch
fireworks (one of the cities in our area), but the fireworks didn’t
start until 10 pm!

On Sunday we went to a baptism for the couple’s, who is over the
restoration site, granddaughter. The family invited us to come and we
were more than happy to be there! The baptism was in the Susquehanna
river! It was so cool to see her be baptized! I’m so grateful that
they invited us to come even though we had only just met her! Later
that day we went to teach M…. Wow, I just love her SO much!! She
is the cutest thing ever! We were teaching the Plan of Salvation and
she kept getting teary-eyed throughout the whole lesson and she told
us that it just all makes sense! She has a baptismal date for July 25
and during our lesson she’s all, “about my baptism… What time is it
going to be at?” Oh she is the best! I seriously love her!! I’m
praying that she will continue to progress in the gospel and that she
will recognize the answers to her prayers. I love her so much! (How
many times can I say that?) Also funny story, while at church in
gospel principles our branch mission leader was teaching and he went
around and introduced everyone because there were some visitors and it
was only M…’s second week. So he introduces M… and suddenly
one of the people in the class who is a recent convert is all, “Hi
aunt M…!” I thought he was just being funny and that he was
pretending to know her when in reality they had just met. But I really
shouldn’t let these things take me by surprise; turns out she actually
is his aunt!! They hadn’t talked to each other in a few years (he
lives in Windsor, New York and she lives in Oakland, Pennsylvania (for
all you church history people is actually what used to be Harmony, PA)
and those two places aren’t far from each other, but it seems like no
one ever leaves their own town so it must be far for them haha) so it
took them both by surprise that they were there! But this seriously
happens ALL the time!! It’s so funny. Everyone in our entire branch is
related… You think I’m kidding, but I swear everyone is related to
someone!! It’s the funniest thing ever. I guess once you go to a small
town you never leave, right? (: Just kidding, but it is strange how
close everyone’s relatives are!

This week I’ve been thinking a lot about the Atonement and the Plan of
Salvation. I know that we all need a Savior. I’m so grateful for my
Brother, Jesus Christ, and that He was so willing to suffer for my
sins. I know that I need a Savior to return to live with my Heavenly
Father again. I’m grateful that I have this gospel so that I can know
how to return to live with Him again. I’m so grateful for the
knowledge of the plan of salvation. I know that I will see loved ones
again because of it. It’s amazing the peace and comfort it can bring
to each and every one of us. My testimony is simple, but I know that
this truly is Christ’s church. I know that this is the way to return
to our Beloved Heavenly Father. That Christ has atoned for all of my
sins. He knows exactly how I feel and He loves me and even if I was
the only person who needed the Atonement, that He still would have
done it. I strive to be an example of my Savior, and I pray that those
who know me will know Him.

I love you to the moon and back!

Love,

Sister Sammy Gomm (:

Leave a Reply

