In and Safe at 10 – Susquehanna #21

Hello friends and family!!

Wow. What a crazy week! The week went by so fast, but looking back on
it, it feels like last Tuesday was years ago! (So…basically it’s
just like any other week).

This week was interesting. It’s always heartbreaking to see people not
living the covenants they have made with God. We found out that a
family (they’re members) we’ve been teaching started smoking again.
Despite those things though, there were positive things that happened!
We got in contact with a less active man, C…, that we’ve been trying
to get in contact with for weeks!! We are hoping to help him get back
to church and to start teaching the lessons to his girlfriend, S…!
We are seeing them later this week, I can’t wait to see where the Lord
takes them!

On Thursday the other half of the mission came up to the Priesthood
Restoration Site!! It was so fun to see so many familiar faces!
Including a new golden, Elder Campbell!!! Whoo! I’ll attach the
picture we took (: something that I really noticed the past two weeks
with our whole mission coming up here is that you can really tell
which zones are being obedient back in their areas. The feeling from
different groups of missionaries was so transparent; and it’s not that
certain groups were being disobedient… But the ones who are exactly
obedient carry the spirit with them more abundantly. I thought a lot
about that, and what I am going to do about it. Now that I’ve
recognized it, how am I going to let it affect me? How do I come
across to others? Can they tell that I have the spirit with me? DO I
have the spirit with me?

After everyone left on Thursday Sister Larsen and I had interviews
with President! In my interview we talked about how I want my mission
to affect the rest of my life. My mission isn’t a separate part from
the rest of my life, but rather, I’m learning things here that will
help me forever. So many people come into this visitors’ center who
are members of the church, but they do not have a testimony of this
gospel. It’s crazy to see the difference in those who do understand
Jesus Christ and His Atonement, and those who do not. Wow. I just love
President and Sister Anderson, they are the best!

On Halloween since we all had to be in by dark unless we were with a
member, all of the visitors’ center missionaries went to the Walker’s
(the site director) house and had dinner and sang hymns while Elder
Walker played the guitar! It was super fun! On Sunday we went to the
visitors’ center and had a lesson that evening at 8 with the S…’s.
Well we didn’t get out of the visitors’ center until 8:30 so we were
super late to their house, but we had a great lesson with them! It was
kind of crazy, but it was awesome! Then Sister Larsen and I were
trying to wrap things up because it was almost 9:30 and we needed to
be home by then, but it just wasn’t happening. It was great though
because we all committed to helping the S…’s strengthen their
faith and I think it was exactly what they needed. So finally we say a
closing prayer and head home. We’re on our way to our house and look
at our phone and we had 5 missed calls from our district leader, so we
go to call him but before we can get it to start ringing we get a call
from our zone leaders, so we answer.. “Hello, this is Sister Gomm,”
“Hi Sister Gomm, this is Elder Margetts. We heard that you have not
reported in and safe yet this evening.” “Well, we can’t report ‘in and
safe’ if we’re not in and safe!” “Wait, what? What happened? Where are
you?” Needless to say, our district leader called us two other times
while we were on the phone with the zone leaders, but finally he got
ahold of us and was so relieved that we finally answered so he didn’t
have to drive all the way out here to make sure we were in. So
basically we were just causing a lot of unnecessary stress….and the
lesson to be learned here is don’t be disobedient and not get home
until 10, or else your district leader will be very stressed. (Sorry
Elder Foster!)

The past two transfers since the visitors’ center has opened have been
so interesting for me. I’m really learning that Heavenly Father has
specific plans for all of His children. And your plan is not the same
as anyone else’s. It’s not even the same as your companion, even if
you’re with them 24/7. Sometimes it’s okay that we don’t have a lot of
time to proselyte. It’s okay that we don’t get to go finding every
hour of the day. It’s okay that we are constantly talking to people
who are already members of the church. Because that is what God has
called us to do. He does have a plan for each of us. What is your plan
and what are you doing to fulfill God’s plan for you?

I hope you all have a wonderful week! I’m sorry this is so
scatter-brained! I love you to the moon and back!

Love,
Sister Sammy Gomm (:

Leave a Reply

