Concert Week – Susquehanna #23

Hello friends and family!!

This week we were basically at the visitors’ center all hours of the
day. Any second we had we were trying to find people to teach,
inviting everyone to our concert that we were having that weekend, and
trying to meet with our less active and recent convert members! It was
crazy. I’ve never sang so much in my entire life.

But wow. Hearts were changed this weekend. Our concert was on Friday
evening. We had tons of less active members, members who are just
getting reactivated, President and Sister Anderson came, almost all of
the active members of the Methodist church, some other people who we,
and Great Bend (other proselyting sisters in our branch) had invited,
and our investigator, R… came!

It was an interesting week, because for numbers it was not a good
week. We were scheduled to be at the visitors’ center from 2-9 every
day, but it was all worth it because of that concert. It’s an amazing
thing to feel the spirit because of how strongly someone else is
feeling it. I have mentioned a lot of times how I think there were
ministering angels around us; and maybe that’s just because ever since
I’ve been in this area I’ve been studying the priesthood, so I’ve been
more aware of it. But I really do feel as though there have been
continuous times when there were ministering angels among us. The
concert was one of those times. The spirit was just so strong. On the
last song I was standing next to Sister Simmons and halfway through I
can tell that she’s crying. I grab her hand and see in the audience
other people crying as well. After the closing prayer a member of the
Methodist church came up to us in tears and hugged us all. When she
hugged me she couldn’t stop talking about how wonderful it all was and
how she felt so good and she thinks we are so great. Although I
definitely, definitely, definitely appreciated her comments I couldn’t
help but pause and think of all the gratitude I have for the
missionaries who served in this area before us. If they hadn’t had
such a great relationship with so many of the people in this area,
these people wouldn’t have felt the need to have relationships with
us. This community is such a unique one, but I’m grateful for the
unity that it has and the fact that we can go to the Methodist bible
study class on Mondays and feel welcomed and people of other faiths
can come and feel welcomed at our church.

Nothing may happen right now with that lady, but somewhere down the
road she might come across two girls in skirts with black name tags
and a white truck and remember her experience that evening and invite
those two in. All my mission all I’ve done so far is plant seeds. But
how important that is! If you don’t plant seeds you won’t have
anything to harvest. Sister Larsen and I have made sure that we talk
to everyone we come across, and not just talk to them, but help them
feel of Heavenly Father’s love for them. Because somewhere in the
future they may have someone offer them a Book of Mormon, and they’re
going to think back to how the last two missionaries they met made
them feel.

That being said, transfer calls are this Friday. All I know so far is
that Susquehanna has my heart.

The gospel is true. President Monson is the prophet on the earth
today, he receives revelation directly from God. He has the authority
to act in God’s name, and God loves us. That’s why He gave us a
prophet; the Book of Mormon; the gospel; His Son, Jesus Christ, our
Savior and redeemer. The knowledge and opportunity to live with God
again is available to all of us, we just have to live worthy of it.

I hope you all have a wonderful week! I love you to the moon and back!

Love,
Sister Gomm (:

Leave a Reply

