I love being a missionary! – Bethlehem #15

Hello friends and family!

We had an amazing week! We had multiple lessons with B…, our
“phone call miracle” investigator. All of which were such spiritual
experiences for her and us! She is so golden. She came to church
yesterday and LOVED it! She was participating so much, she even
suggested everyone introduce themselves in gospel principles (which
was perfect because half of them were there for the first time!), when
she introduced herself she said, “Hi, I’m B…, and I want to be
baptized.” I couldn’t help but laugh and ask myself for the 100th time
if I was dreaming.

On Wednesday we went on exchanges with the south side sisters!! Sister
Ashcraft came here to north side with me and Sister Brunsdale went to
south side with Sister Jensen. Wow. Sister Ashcraft and I were a
companionship made in heaven, but not really because we were only
companions for one day. We had SO much fun! We are basically the same
person. She is the cutest. We had dinner with a family of members
which was both of our first times going there for dinner, I don’t
think they even realized that we were on exchanges, but we taught them
the restoration and it was amazing! The Spirit was SO strong!

On Thursday we had zone training that was all about the Book of
Mormon! Yay! One of my favorite things!! It was SO good! I know I need
to use the Book of Mormon more effectively as a missionary and this
was just what I needed to hear! They had us read the talk Safety for
the Soul by Elder Holland before zone training, then hey referenced
back to the talk throughout the meeting. I thought about the district
video where they have part of this talk at the end of one of the
videos. Elder Holland speaks with such boldness. He isn’t afraid to
proclaim to the world that he knows the Book of Mormon is true. I love
the last part of his talk:

      I ask that my testimony of the Book of Mormon and all that it
implies, given today under my own oath and office, be recorded by men
on earth and angels in heaven. I hope I have a few years left in my
“last days,” but whether I do or do not, I want it absolutely clear
when I stand before the judgment bar of God that I declared to the
world, in the most straightforward language I could summon, that the
Book of Mormon is true, that it came forth the way Joseph said it came
forth and was given to bring happiness and hope to the faithful in the
travail of the latter days.
      My witness echoes that of Nephi, who wrote part of the book in
his “last days”:
      “Hearken unto these words and believe in Christ; and if ye
believe not in these words believe in Christ. And if ye shall believe
in Christ ye will believe in these words, for they are the words of
Christ, … and they teach all men that they should do good.
      “And if they are not the words of Christ, judge ye–for Christ
will show unto you, with power and great glory, that they are his
words, at the last day.”
      Brothers and sisters, God always provides safety for the soul,
and with the Book of Mormon, He has again done that in our time.
Remember this declaration by Jesus Himself: “Whoso treasureth up my
word, shall not be deceived”–and in the last days neither your heart
nor your faith will fail you. Of this I earnestly testify in the name
of Jesus Christ, amen.

I think of all of the prophets who wrote in the Book of Mormon, all
that they went through to make sure we got this. I think of this
dispensation, all that Joseph Smith went through to make sure we got
the Book of Mormon. All that my parents went through to make sure that
I got this Book. Something a missionary had said to me about a year
ago has always stuck with me, “Would Moroni be proud of the testimony
you gave of this marvelous Book? Would he feel that you did it
justice? After your life here on earth, would he say that you had done
enough?” Each time I think of that I think of how thankful I am to
have many opportunities every day to testify that the Book of Mormon
is true. I think of our beloved Prophet, President Thomas S. Monson.
He has used his life to testify to all that the Book of Mormon is
true. That it testifies of Jesus Christ and answers questions of the
soul. It teaches us how to be with our loving Father in Heaven again.
How blessed are we to have such a wonderful servant of the Lord to
direct us and guide us!

Yesterday in sacrament meeting during fast and testimony meeting, a
Brother in the ward bore his testimony on the plan of salvation.
Earlier that week we had taught the plan of salvation to him, his wife
and his daughter at a dinner appointment. While sharing his testimony
in sacrament meeting he mentioned this and talked about how touched he
was that we were teaching his daughter wonderful truths. He got pretty
emotional because the Spirit was so strong. What he forgot to mention
though, was after we taught the whole plan of salvation to his family,
we showed a video about Christ. The Spirit was so strong because their
home was already a Christ-centered place. Their daughter already knew
who Jesus Christ was, and at just three years old had enough knowledge
of our Savior to invite the Spirit to testify of all that He did for
us.

One of our many miracles this week was having three investigators at
church! A few days before Sunday we were pretty stressed out because
we had told our district leader that we were going to be accountable
to 3 at church! We had been inviting everyone, but despite our
efforts, we didn’t think we were going to have three people there.
Saturday night in prayer, I told Heavenly Father I had done all I
could and if it was His will, I would love to have three people at
church, two of which could be people we could begin teaching. The next
morning at church B… walked in and then two people that a member
brought came as well! They all stayed for all three hours and we are
going to start teaching the two that were brought by the member! They
participated so much in class and all have such a great desire to
learn! In gospel principles B… asked us what the topic was
(Sister Brunsdale and I taught because the ward mission leader wasn’t
there). When we told her the topic was obedience she looked kind of
sad and said, “We’re not going to talk about the Book of Mormon?” Wow.
That’s the best thing I’ve ever heard! Luckily we were talking a lot
about Nephi and how obedient and willing he was! I love that B…
loves the Book of Mormon. It’s how we all should be.

I know the Book of Mormon is true. I know the priesthood is on the
earth today. And I know that Jesus is the Christ. I wouldn’t be on a
mission if any of these things weren’t true! I love seeing the gospel
change people, there is no greater work to be a part of! I love being
a missionary!

I hope you have a wonderful week! I love you to the moon and back!

Love,
Sister Gomm

Leave a comment