Cloud 9 – Bethlehem #18

Wow. SO much has happened the past week and a half!! I LOVE being a
missionary! I feel like I’m on cloud 9 from all the miracles and
experiences we’ve been having! Let’s see if I can even remember
everything…

We did so much finding, testifying, planning, laughing, and crying
(from laughter) this past week! We saw a bunch of less active members
at the beginning of last week. So many tender mercies from the Lord of
us getting to testify of Christ to these people. On Wednesday morning
of last week the assistants called us and asked if we wanted a mini
missionary!! I’m pretty sure I started screaming because I was so
excited!! That night our mini missionary, Sister Raphael, showed up at
our apartment! She’s a senior in high school and working on her
mission papers right now! Can you say miracles??? I want a mini
missionary all the time! On Thursday after district meeting we went to
contact a referral we had been given from the Spanish Elders. We show
up and these two girls let us right in! We started talking about the
church and gave them both copies of the Book of Mormon and they are
both super excited to read it and they both accepted the invitation to
be baptized on May 22!! Whoo!!!!! We set up a ton of appointments and
talked to SO many people!

We had a couple of super spiritual dinner appointments and lessons,
and found a ton of new people to teach!! The women’s general broadcast
was so good (obviously), and we had a lesson with this family that
speaks mostly Arabic! On Easter we had a great church service and
three of our investigators were there! Two of which were from the
family of people who speak Arabic! Sunday school was an amazing lesson
about the Atonement of Jesus Christ. After church we were sitting in
the foyer writing an explanation to an object lesson for the ysa
bishop when the Whitehall ward got out of sacrament meeting, and out
walks our investigator, D…! WHOOT! She was all, “I couldn’t come
earlier, but I just walked in the building and thought this is where I
should have gone.” She is the cutest!

On Monday we had an amazing ten minute lesson with our new
investigator, M…. He is searching for truth and really wants to
meet with us, and we are seeing him again tomorrow! Later that day we
had a lesson with this super cute family! We had tracted into them and
they wanted us to come back! I basically taught the kids while Sister
Brunsdale taught the parents, it was crazy! Everyone was trying to ask
questions at once, but they are so amazing! They don’t speak very much
English though so we referred them to the Spanish Elders, I can’t wait
to see where they go:) on Monday evening after our dinner appointment
we had a lesson with D…. Wow. She is so cool! We taught the gospel
of Jesus Christ and she really wants to come closer to her Savior.
While teaching about repentance she said, “Wow, maybe that’s why I
still feel guilty after I repent, I need to remember the Savior in all
that I do!” She’s so cool. At the end of the lesson we invited her to
be baptized and she was all, “Yeah, I’ve actually been thinking about
it.” She now has a baptismal date for May 15! Wow. So many miracles
are happening in Bethlehem, I love it!!

We’ve found a couple more people to teach so far this week, and lots
of big plans for this weekend! Yesterday we had a lesson with a cute
little girl named M…. She wants to go to church and come closer
to God. We found her from tracting and her mom actually invited us to
come back to talk to her. It was cool to see her and her mom learn
truths! We taught M… who Jesus Christ is, what the scriptures
are, and how to pray. She said one of the most sincere prayers at the
end, it was so sweet!

Today we got to go to the Manhattan temple to do baptisms for the dead
with Brother H…! (Hence why I am emailing today). Wow. That was
such a wonderful experience! The temple is so amazing and I’m so
grateful that we have the authority to give our ancestors the
opportunity to accept the gospel. The Spirit in the temple was so
strong! Afterwards Brother H… said, “I feel so light and
rejuvenated.” I love the temple.

Wow, what a crazy past couple of weeks! I’m so excited for general
conference this weekend! I was thinking about the hymn We Thank Thee O
God For a Prophet and how the saints at the time of the restoration
must have been SO grateful for Joseph Smith. Then I thought about me
today. I remember a few years ago when we went on trek for youth
conference and I had thought to myself, ‘I’m so grateful for a
prophet, I will always follow him.’ Then reflecting on what I’ve done
since then. Times when I wasn’t as grateful that we have a prophet,
and times when I took that for granted. But now, I hope that I am just
as excited to have a prophet and to sing the words to a beautiful hymn
and let my Father in Heaven know how grateful I am for our beloved
Prophet today, President Thomas S. Monson.

I love this gospel, I know it’s true, and I’m so grateful I get to
share it with others!

I love you to the moon and back!
Sister Gomm

"At the temple!"

“At the temple!”

Leave a Reply

