The Lord has Perfect Timing

This week was so good! We took a couple who had just finished their
mission in Florida on a tour. They were so cute! They didn’t have a
lot of time so we just took them through the homes. I love when people
are open to feeling the Spirit, it makes their experiences here that
much more memorable. On our walk back up to the visitors’ center with
this couple the man asked if we had seen any miracles here at the
site. I smiled as I thought about what to share. I shared an
experience that had happened last fall:

One afternoon Sister Larsen and I had an appointment that we had to go
to in the middle of our day at the visitors’ center. We got permission
from Elder Walker to leave and headed to our appointment. When we
showed up to our appointment they weren’t home. Annoyed that we had
used time and miles to get there, we headed back to the truck to go
back to the visitors’ center. On the way back we felt prompted to try
someone else. They weren’t home, but we felt prompted to try another
person; they weren’t home either! Even more annoyed I prayed and told
Heavenly Father that I was just trying to do the right thing and if
there was someone I needed to see specifically, to have Him help me
know that. We headed back to the visitors’ center and within 2 minutes
of being there a recent convert from our branch walked in with her
family. They were so happy that we were taking them on a tour because
they knew us. At the end of the tour we gave a bunch of them copies of
the Book of Mormon and had cleared up a lot of questions. After that
the recent convert’s father was more kind to us and came to church
that Sunday! Because of that tour we gave we were able to start
teaching the recent convert’s mother!
I was transferred before we really got to teach her, but she is now
going to be baptized in May!

As I told this couple this miracle story the Spirit came rushing over
us. With tears I testified of the Lord’s timing and how perfect it is
and how more often than not we don’t understand His timing until
later, but the important thing is to remember His timing is perfect.
The couple was so touched by this story and they thanked us over and
over for showing them around. Tender mercies like this help me to know
that the Lord is aware of each of us. Especially since He helped me to
be more aware of the miracles that are happening here at the site
every day.

On Saturday we had tons of people come to the site in the morning. In
the evening Bishop Gerald Caussé came to the site (he’s the presiding
bishop for the church). He came to have a meeting about some of the
property the church owns here and we were planning on singing for him,
but we were worried the timing wasn’t going to work out with other
tours going on at the same time. When he showed up though, no one else
was at the site. We invited him in and him, Brother Kent Hinckley,
Brother Ramos, Elder Porter, and Brother Andy Kirby (sorry can’t
remember everyone’s first names!) came in and we sang The Lord is My
Shepherd for them. At the end of the song Bishop Caussé commented on
how he could feel the Spirit so strongly and that is what made the
song so beautiful. He asked us to sing another song so we sang Abide
With Me. The experience I had with Bishop Caussé here was similar to
the experience I had when President Nelson was here. Shaking their
hands the Spirit confirmed to me without a shadow of a doubt that
these men are called by God and they have the authority to act in His
name.

After they had left Elder Walker told us that during their meeting
Bishop Caussé told Elder Walker that he felt very strongly that each
of the sisters here at the site are supposed to be here. As Elder
Walker relayed this story to us I felt the Spirit so strongly that
this was true. I know I’m supposed to be here, despite how hard it is
and how much I miss proselyting, I know this is where the Lord needs
me to be right now. Gratitude for the Savior washed over me and I
thought again, of His perfect timing in everything.

Yesterday we took an uncle and two nieces on a tour. They live in
Scranton and the uncle is a member and the nieces just went to church
for the first time a few days ago. They were so cool! They just met
the missionaries and the elders had told them to come up here, so they
decided they would! J… and B… (the two nieces) were so open
to feeling the Spirit. They had so many questions and really wanted to
understand everything. About half way through the tour, we were
walking from the Hale home to the Smith home and out of nowhere I
blurted, “So are you two going to be baptized?” They both laughed and
said they weren’t sure yet. Right after that we stepped into the Smith
home. The Spirit enveloped the room as Sister Martinez and I testified
of the Book of Mormon and its truth and explained what it was. We told
them that they don’t need to know everything before they’re baptized,
and we gave them both copies of the Book of Mormon. Afterwards they
both said they felt really good about coming here and they’re excited
to learn more.

I know the Lord is helping me in all that I do. I’m so grateful for
the experiences I’ve had here that have helped me trust Him and in
turn, helped me to gain His trust. I’m so grateful for the Book of
Mormon and that I get to help people understand that it testifies of
Jesus Christ. I’m grateful that the Lord has perfect timing and He
doesn’t forget any of us. He hasn’t even forgotten me, a missionary at
a visitors’ center. He loves each of us and I’m so grateful for that
love. I love being a missionary!

I hope you have a great week! Love you to the moon and back!

Love,
Sister Gomm

"Bishop Caussé's visit"

“Bishop Caussé’s visit”

Leave a Reply

