Miracle

This week I want to share a miracle that has been in the process for a
long, long time. It’s a long story, but one that has meant a lot to
me! This is how I was involved with Robin’s conversion.

Robin has a daughter named Lindsey. Lindsey was baptized almost two
years ago. She is such a great example to her parents and family. I
know it would have only been a matter of time before Lindsey’s mom,
Robin, joined the church. I only played a small part in her joining
the church, but I like to think that my small part made a difference.
If anything, I’m just grateful that the Lord has allowed her to be in
my life.

A year ago Sisters Simmons, Brown, and I tripled in to Susquehanna,
meaning we were all new to the area. We had just replaced the elders
and the people here were not very happy about that. The didn’t like
change and they were all used to “the boy missionaries.” Our first
evening in Susquehanna we went over to the branch mission leader’s
house. He basically gave us a run down of everyone in the area.
Susquehanna is a small town and we wanted to learn all we could as
fast as we could. The branch mission leader got to one family and he
proudly told us how great they were. He expressed his love for all of
them. Lindsey, the daughter who had been baptized the summer before
who had been friends with his children, the father who was so
compassionate and organized, and the mother who was so loving and
faithful; and especially how great of parents this man and woman had
been to Lindsey. He told us that he thought having sisters in the area
would be very beneficial, especially for the mother, Robin.

Throughout that summer we prayed for opportunities to go to this
family’s house and gain their trust enough to start teaching them.
Some time in July, Lindsey came home from school for a few weeks. This
was a miracle for us. Lindsey called and asked if we wanted to come
over for dinner that night. That evening we went over and really got
to know them better. It was so fun! Robin told us about all the things
she had learned about the gospel from her daughter and how she had
been reading the Book of Mormon for awhile now. After leaving, Sister
Brown and I (we were no longer in the trio) were so excited! They were
so cool! We again prayed for opportunities to go back and talk with
them more. We prayed that the Lord would soften their hearts so they
could accept the restored gospel. Progress wasn’t really made and we
started to get discouraged with the fact that we hadn’t officially
started teaching them the lessons.

A couple months later in September I got a new companion and the
Priesthood Restoration Site opened in our area. My new companion,
Sister Larsen, and I were assigned to the visitors’ center part time.
Life was crazy! We were trying to balance our area with the site and
twelve week because Sister Larsen was a golden. In the first week of
the site being opened we saw many miracles, one of them involving
Robin and her family. We were at the site giving tours for the day,
but in the afternoon we had to go to a lesson. Once we got there
however, the lesson fell through. We had a prompting that we should go
to someone’s house but they weren’t home.. Then we felt like we should
go to someone else’s house but they weren’t home either. Sister Larsen
and I were trying to figure out what Heavenly Father’s intentions were
for sending us to two different houses where no one was home.
Especially because we were wasting time that could have been used at
the visitors’ center. We drove back to the site feeling confused about
why the Lord would prompt us to go to two different houses when He
knew neither of the houses had anyone home.

Right when we got back to the site we put our bags in the back and
walked out to the lobby because we were next for giving a tour. Not
even two minutes after we went out there, in walked Lindsey and her
family. She came with her parents, her aunt and uncle, her
grandmother, and another aunt. This was huge for us because Lindsey
was the only member of the church in her family and they came to see
what the site was all about! We immediately recognized that that was
why Heavenly Father directed us to go stop by those two other people.
He knew they weren’t home so it could be timed just right for us to be
there when they showed up. If we had been any earlier or later we
would have missed them and someone else would have given them a tour,
which would not have been a problem, but it was definitely inspiration
that we were with them because we had been the ones trying to get in
contact with them and they already knew us so they felt more
comfortable. I remember on their tour when we got to the Smith home we
quickly asked Lindsey if she would be willing to share her testimony
of the Book of Mormon. We sat down and talked about the Book of
Mormon, the priesthood, and faith. The spirit was so strong and then
Lindsey shared her testimony of the Book of Mormon and invited the
Spirit even more. I knew this was a turning point for the missionaries
to be involved in their lives.

The next few weeks were perfect because we had been given an excuse to
go stop by their house and follow up on the commitment we had given
them. Robin expressed her desires, finally, to begin taking the
lessons! We were nothing short of ecstatic. I didn’t understand how
God could be so loving by providing such an amazing opportunity and
miracle for us. From there we had a rocky start with teaching them the
lessons. They were just so busy and it was hard to stay in contact
with them. One day we decided to just go stop by and pray that they
were home. To our amazement Robin was home! She invited us in and told
us again that she was ready to start taking the lessons, she just
needed to talk to her husband about it. We saw her once a week the
next few weeks. After that I was transferred from the area. I was
devastated because I didn’t think I’d be able to see her be baptized.
I kept in contact with the sisters serving in Susquehanna though
because I wanted to hear how Robin was doing.

In April I was transferred back to Susquehanna full time at the
Priesthood Restoration Site. This meant I wouldn’t be able to teach
Robin, but I would get to see her at church! Plus I knew she had a
date to be baptized and I prayed that I would be able to be there for
that. The baptism date was pushed back a couple of times, but finally,
Robin was baptized!!

Robin was baptized last Saturday and confirmed at church on Sunday. It
was such a blessing because almost all of the missionaries who had
taught her were able to be at her baptism! I know that the Lord has
given me so many tender mercies by allowing me to witness some of
Robin’s conversion. I know the Lord would have provided a way for her
to begin being taught by the missionaries even if I hadn’t been here
and hadn’t taken her and her family on a tour at the site. In fact,
I’m sure that her side of the story is very different, and it probably
starts a lot earlier than her story did for me, but I know that
certain things were set up in certain ways so that everything could
work out for her to follow the example of our Savior.

I’m so grateful for the tools the Lord has blessed us with to help His
work progress, especially a tool so big as the Priesthood Restoration
Site. Robin asked me to give a talk on the Holy Ghost at her baptism.
As I prepared I considered the things the Holy Ghost does for us and
why we need not only the influence of the Holy Ghost, but the gift of
the Holy Ghost. At her baptism, Robin shared a strong testimony of the
gospel. She testified of the Book of Mormon and why we need it in our
lives. And also why we need a Savior. While I listened to her talk I
felt Heavenly Father’s love encircle the room. I know that He is so
proud of Robin and the choices she has made. I’m grateful for the
things I’ve learned here and the miracles I’ve been able to witness.

Apparently I’m just so full of gratitude this week. Gratitude for the
people I know here and the experiences I’ve had. I’m grateful for the
Spirit and the truth it teaches us. I’m grateful for the scriptures
which testify of Christ. I’m grateful for the priesthood which allows
us to perform saving ordinances such as baptism. I’m grateful for the
fullness of the gospel. I’m grateful for my Savior, that He has
allowed me to use the Atonement and help others know how they can do
the same. I’m grateful for Robin, that she has made righteous choices
that are bringing her closer to her Father in Heaven.

Now that I’ve literally written a novel, I hope you have a wonderful
week! I love you to the moon and back!

Love,
Sister Gomm

image2 (5)image2 (4)

Leave a Reply

