Time Needs to Slow Down!

Hello friends and family!

I swear the weeks keep going by faster and faster! This week we had
zone conference! There’s something special about having a mission
president and his wife direct and guide you. It was so bitter sweet to
have our last zone conference with President and Sister Anderson. I
love them so much!

We had so many bus tours this week, it was so fun! Some of my most
favorite memories of this place are with the youth groups who come in
here. There’s something special about those youth groups because
they’re all getting ready for a lot of change in their lives. They’re
trying to figure themselves out and they’re so humble because they are
willing to accept change! There was one in particular that had three
boys and a bunch of girls in the group. Once we got to the Smith
summer kitchen I asked them all why the priesthood was important to
them. One of the boys mentioned that he had just gotten the
Melchizedek priesthood last Sunday and he is heading to the mtc in
about three weeks. He mentioned that his stake president had told them
that the priesthood they were getting was the same priesthood that
Christ used to create the earth. I pointed out that they will never
receive any more priesthood than what they have now. Yes, there will
be more keys and different responsibilities, but it’s the same
authority that Christ has. We went into a conversation about the
priesthood that I didn’t even know I was capable of having. My
understanding of the priesthood has grown immensely. I then told all
of the girls some of the roles that they have with the priesthood as
well, in hopes that they can understand the priesthood more and how it
affects them. I’m so grateful that I have learned so much about the
priesthood to not only benefit others, but myself as well. I know the
Lord is helping me to understand the priesthood and the gospel so that
I can explain it simply to others.

One of the highlights of this week was on Friday night we got to sing
the national anthem at the races that happen every Friday! It was SO
fun! I got to see so many of the people that I taught last summer and
fall because basically everyone in Susquehanna goes to the races!

penn-can

image6b

“at the races”

Something that keeps coming up in different trainings and meetings
that we’ve been having recently is something I think is very
important. Oftentimes we make lists, specifically “to do” lists. To do
lists are great and often much needed, but for us as children of God,
how much more important is it for us to have “to become” lists. I made
a list of qualities the person that I want to become has and then
broke it down to a long term and short term like weekly and monthly
ways I am going to achieve who I want to become. It’s been really cool
to put those things into perspective and see who I think the Lord
wants me to be, and then to make goals to achieve that. It’s been a
great learning experience for me and I’m glad I’ve done it!

I don’t know why I got so lucky to be a missionary here and at this
time. There really is no greater work for me to do right now than
serving the Lord. I’m so grateful for Christ’s atonement and
everything I am learning right now! Here’s to another busy and very,
very eventful week!

I love you to the moon and back!

Love,
Sister Gomm

Leave a Reply

